Home News Community The 2012 DHSHS Jr ROTC Awards

The 2012 DHSHS Jr ROTC Awards

The 2012 DHSHS Jr ROTC Awards

Story and Photos by Bruce Montgomery

The Desert Hot Springs High School Marine Corps Junior ROTC Awards and Promotion Ceremony was held Thursday evening, May 3, 2012. The high school band under the direction of Dr. Brian McDaniels entertained the large crowd before the ceremony. Individual cadet awards were awarded to: Julian Enriquez, Tyler Wright, Rachelle Scott, Mrissa alayjian, Tally Reynoso, Xochilt Melero, Ashton Hamerton-Kelly, Francicsco Ruiz, Luis Vargas, Maria Lopez, Peter Orelleno, Samanatha Meza and Tally Reynoso.

The following cadets will graduate in June 2012, and each will receive a $3,000 scholarship from the Elmer J. Stone Scholarship Fund: Maria Lopez, Marissa Kalayjian, Ana Figueroa Zavala, Monica Ochoa Gomez, Rachelle Scott, Stephanie Rodriguez, Xochilt Melero, Emmanuel Ramirez, Ashton Hamerton Kelly and Juan Esparza.

Nine cadets will travel to Texas on June 16, 2012 to attend one week of special trial training conducted at Texas A&M University. Sponsors were: Ron and Delores Tweedy, Neil YOung, Christopher DeSalva, Andrew Jessup and Andrew Jessup, Jr. The nine cadets chosen are: Francisco Ruiz, Saul Lopez, Ana Martinez, Hannah Morales, Tally Reynoso and Martin Moreno.

Singing the national anthem was the “Faultline Quartet” comprised by Blaine Mack, Stan Gile, Dave Hawks, and Mike Ostrom.

See all the great photos in a slide show fro Bruce Montgomery, just click this link!

Remakrs were made by Mayor Yvonne Parks and Principal Dr. Anne Kalisek.